Recent Posts

Tuesday, Aug 26, 2014
Thursday, Aug 21, 2014
Monday, Aug 4, 2014
Wednesday, Jul 9, 2014
Wednesday, Jul 2, 2014
Wednesday, Jun 25, 2014
Friday, Jun 20, 2014
Friday, Jun 13, 2014
Friday, Jun 6, 2014
Wednesday, Jun 4, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014
Friday, May 16, 2014
Friday, May 9, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
Friday, May 2, 2014
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Thursday, Apr 17, 2014
Wednesday, Apr 16, 2014
Friday, Apr 11, 2014
Wednesday, Apr 9, 2014
Friday, Apr 4, 2014
Wednesday, Apr 2, 2014
Friday, Mar 28, 2014
Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014

Subscribe by Email

Your email:

GLEW'S NEWS BLOG

Current Articles | RSS Feed RSS Feed

Engineering Tools in the 21st Century Part 2: CAD explored

 

CAD Software Programs used in Engineering

Computer Modeling with 3D CAD was one type of the tools used in engineering that was discussed in the last blog. We discussed how mechanical engineers are only one of the disciplines that utilize CAD while engaged in many aspects of a project. While there are many different 3D CAD Modeling software packages to choose from, I have chosen to utilize Autodesk™ and Solidworks™ for the discussion in this blog series. Over the next couple of weeks, I will be going through both programs using the tutorials provided with the software, as well as any online help, to create some simple designs to demonstrate the abilities of each version.

First up is Autodesk Inventor™. The first thing you notice when loading the software is that it is big. 20+ gig big. While at first it may seem overwhelming, it is somewhat easy to understand. The tabs are self-identifying and set up clearly within the menue bars that you can customize to your preference. Once you have the screen arranged to your liking, you click on the tutorial button to start up.

The first installed tutorial on Autodesk Inventor™ is a simple rendition of a basic water bottle and takes you from a 2d sketch to a 3d model in a few simple steps.Autodesk tutorial screen capture

Starting on the sketch screen you can easily set your lines and arcs to define the basic shape profile of the bottle. After setting you lines, the tutorial explains how to go back and re-define the dimensions. This will allow you to quickly set your lines without having to be exact with your measurements as you draw them. The next step transforms the sketch into a 3D model. A simple click on the revolve tab, after establishing the center axis of the drawing, transforms the 2D drawing into a 3D Model.

You then have options that will allow you to chamfer the edges, hollow out the bottle using the shell tab, and add threads to the mouth of the bottle. All three of these steps are quick and simple to perform. What you have at this point is a complete bottle shell ready for some personal touches.3D Modeling of water bottle

CAD Modeling made easier with new software

The final steps will take you through the procedure to display, wrap and emboss text onto the bottle face. This has a few more steps involed as you work with the plane faces, text boxes and centering buttons, but all are straight forward and easy to understand once you get through the tutorial.

 

Completed 3D Model

Having finished the tutorial, the next blog will continue on CAD design software and their features as well as many of the uses in the field of engineering. We will also discuss the Solidworks™ line of softwares and the features that they provide.

For more information on Glew Engineering Consulting visit the Glew Engineering website, blog or call 800-877-5892 or 650-641-3019. 

Comments

There are no comments on this article.
Comments have been closed for this article.

Current Articles | RSS Feed RSS Feed

Linear v Novellus (Semiconductor Equipment)

  
  

After 8 long years, Novellus finally rid itself of the lawsuit with Linear Technology. Irell and Manella LLP, for whom Glew Engineering has worked in the past, took no prisoners in the unanimous jury verdict announced yesterday in favor of their client Novellus.  The jury consisted of 12 men and women in Santa Clara, CA, the heart of the silicon valley.  Certainly good news for Novellus' legal team, as well as their bottom line. Congratulation to Jonathan Kagan Esq. and his colleagues.  Now both sides can get back to what they do best - making chips and chip equipment.

Novellus' also shipped their 1000th Vector PECVD tool in February? Considering the tool's throughput and uptime, there may be as many chips out there by now with Novellus' dielectric films as those of any semiconductor equipment manufacturer. See the details at: 

http://ir.novellus.com/releasedetail.cfm?ReleaseID=441840

 

Semiconductor Equipment, Glew Engineering

All Posts

Follow Glew Engineering

Browse by Tag

Subscribe by Email

Your email: